Got Juice?–Day 4

To quote the Fresh Beat Band, “It was a Great Day.”  Fresh Beat is Bella’s favorite show and we actually enjoy it too.  Anyway, Day 4 has been the best yet!  I was able to get my hot green tea just right this morning and really enjoyed it.  I thought today’s juice was going to be a challenge.  It had apple, beets, kale and ginger.  The kale and beets didn’t sound very appetizing, but, it wasn’t bad at all.  In fact, quite tasty.  Tomorrow is pure carrot juice.  I love carrots, but don’t think I have ever actually drank carrot juice.  Well, we will just have to see how it goes.  Check out the color of today’s juice:

photo 2

See how Tiffany labels our juice?  I pick up three days supply at a time on Tuesday and Thursday and she labels with our name and the day.  I love that it is in a Mason jar.  I love, love anything in a Mason jar, but that is a tale for another day.

I had lots of energy today and almost finished cleaning an purging in my craft room.  I already have five big boxes of almost new stamping and scrapbooking supplies that will be in our garage sale next week.  Lots of Stampin’ Up! stamp sets- for cheap!  Gonna have a little pre-sale for my crafting ladies and whatever is left I will take to my mother-in-law’s nursing home. 

But, I digress.  The detox/cleanse gives your colon and digestive system a break.  Then your body can work on getting rid of the nasty stuff instead of expending energy digesting all our food.  Is that where my energy comes from?  I don’t know, but I love it.  Another super benefit I have discovered- I sleep like a dream!  And it is really a restful sleep.  I hope to change to a partial raw food menu after the cleanse.  I will still drink my juice each day, but really focus on healthy eating.  Tiffany says 4-5 small healthy meals a day is ideal.  You don’t get hungry and are satisfied with yummy fruits and raw veggies.  She has some wonderful recipes I will be trying out.

Speaking of recipes- here is the recipe for the energy boosting Raw Green Smoothie that I had on day 2 (compliments of Tiffany Finney at Pour Me Some Juice).

cropped-pour-me-some-juice-blog-header

  • 1 cup of baby spinach
  • 3-4 leaves of kale
  • a mint
  • 1 banana (I slice my bananas into chunks and freeze- makes the smoothie super cold)
  • 1/2 apple
  • 6 strawberries (I used frozen)
  • 1/2 cup of cut pineapple (frozen)
  • 1/2 avocado (to me- the perfect food)
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tbsps raw almonds
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds or mill
  • mangoes – frozen

That’s it- takes about a minute to put it all in a blender, then blend for a minute.  Very, very tasty.

I had a half-banana as a little snack mid-morning, then a salad for lunch.  It was so pretty.  Romaine, tomatoes, cucumber, carrots, celery, fresh blueberries, a few almond slivers, flax seeds, 1/2 avocado and a couple of chopped medjool dates.  I dressed it with a lemon vinaigrette.  It tasted as good as it looks!

photo 5

So, to recap the last four days.  I have had a lot of juice, lettuce, raw veggies, and a couple of smoothies.  No caffeine, dairy, no processed foods or sugar (except what is in the fruit).  Two more days to go.  Thanks for staying with me.

(I promised to show you a couple of cards, but I just ran out of room on this post.  Check back in a few for a countdown to Christmas!)

Blessings,

Diane

Leave a comment