Nature’s Sketchbook in Whisper Soft Gray – CC159

Wonderful colors today- Soft Sky, Basic Gray and Whisper White. I have long been a fan of Marjolein Bastin and bought this set long ago- but have never used it-until today. The crocuses caught my eye as I looked over my stamp stash and inspiration for this card developed quickly. Got to use my brand new CB Script folder on vellum and tried a little watercoloring and I am very pleased with the end result. The CB vellum was inspired by this beautiful card by Leisa Jane: http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/ga…;ppuser=135903cc159-nature-sketchbook-in-whisper-soft-gray.jpg

I cut the Basic Gray paper to standard A2 size, 5 1/2 X 8 1/2 inches. I scored at 4 1/4 and made my fold. Then, cut a piece of white transparent vellum 5 1/4″ X 4″ and ran it through the Script Cuttlebug embossing folder, then used the ticket corner punch for each corner. Stamped my main image in Stazon Jet Black on Whisper White cardstock and lightly watercolored just the flowers with an Aqua Painter with Soft Sky and Wild Wasabi ink. I cut the image 2 1/4″ square on a scrap of Soft Sky, then cut a piece of Basic Gray and Soft Sky as a frame for the image. I didn’t intend to skew the pieces as in the picture, but when I was deciding where to place the ribbon- I liked how it looked. So, I skewed the Soft Sky and Basic Gray and image pieces and glued them together.

Next-added the White Satin flat bow, glued the vellum to the base, then added the image piece a little off center. Used a push pin to make holes for my white eyelets.

The finished product will make a pretty wedding or anniversary card and has an elegant look to it.

Supply deets:

Stamps: SU! Nature’s Sketchbook

Paper: SU! Whisper White, Soft Sky, Basic Gray, White Translucent Vellum

Ink: Stazon Jet Black

Accessories: Cuttlebug Script Embossing Folder, White brads, White Satin Ribbon, Aqua Painter, Push Pin

All of the cards in the gallery today are so stunning. Take a look here.

Leave a Reply

